~ Basic Personal Makeup Kit ~

January 13, 2010

I get asked all the time ” What makeup do I need?” from everyday women who are confused about all the items available these days. And truthfully, it really depends on you.  For some of us, everyday makeup starts with a foundation and ends with lipstick and for others, a bit of concealer and some tinted lip balm does the trick.

I figured the easiest way to answer this question was to explain what I have in my day-to-day personal kit, and I would suggest just choosing items that you feel you need and will use. Also feel free to submit questions in the comments section below and I will do my best to answer or make suggestions;)

(Please note this does note contain skin/lip care items nor primers.)

So, here is what it is my makeup bag…

Foundation, Concealer, Powder, and Blusher or Bronzer ( or both for some), 

Eyeshadow Quad ( a pallet of 4 colors for everyday – 3 neutrals and one pop of color and one of my shades also doubles as a brow powder) Eyeliner pencil (Black or Brown) and Mascara

Lipliner ( flesh toned matches everything!) and  Lipcolor

And the final result usually looks something like this (minus the flash):

Now, if you find using disposable applicators is not giving you the results you want, quality brushes are a great investment and some brushes can be used for multiple things. For example – I use the same angled brush to fill in my brows as I use for my eyeliner. At a minimum, these are the brushes I use for a full makeup routine – A powder/blush brush, eyeliner/brow brush, eyeshadow shader brush, and eye blender brush. I have found brushes in drugstores that I love just as much as brushes I have from high end retailers, so just know there are affordable options. Feel free to comment for questions about brushes, and note I will be updating with some brush recommendations/reviews very soon;)

Also, some must have tools for me include – Tweezers, a good sharpener for eye and lip pencils and an eyelash curler. And finally, you can never have too much/many disposable wedges, Qtips, brush cleaner spray ( Sephora makes a great one), makeup remover and hand sanitizer. 

You can build your collection from there based on personal tastes and budget, but for me, these are my basics for a full makeup routine. Feel free to comment and share yours!

KristineMarie

FREE MAKEUP GIVEAWAY ENDS THIS WEEK, CLICK FOR DETAILS TO ENTER AND WIN

7 Responses to “~ Basic Personal Makeup Kit ~”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I totally think that makeup depends on the individual🙂 We all like product reviews and tips though to make it work better for us😉

    • KristineMarie Says:

      Exactly, and that’s why I made it a point to say so in the introduction;)

      If you have a request for a review, or a specific question, why not submit it and I will see what I can do.

      KM

  2. annagrmakeup Says:

    yep I agree that showing your everyday kit is a great way to show what a basic kit could include. Nice choices! Btw… Mineralize skinfinnish does give a skin-like glow? I think I need to add something like that to my kit because I just have good old mat poweder hahaha

    • KristineMarie Says:

      Well Anna, at my old age I am not sure if anything is going to make me glow” but I do think the finish of the mineralize powders does give some life back after a matte foundation. For a super duper glow, a bit of strobe cream in the moisturizer and then mineralize satinfinish foundation or powder ( or both.) Now THAT is a recipe for radiance!

      So girly, when can we see a post on what’s in your everyday bag?? Hmmm?😉

      KristineMarie

  3. annagrmakeup Says:

    “Old age” Ha!😉 I was thinking in something less matte than average powders. But nice to know your recipe haha I might need it someday😉 For me, I like super mat, I have combo skin hahaha
    haha let me take my cam and I’ll do it, but just because you ask me LOL😉


  4. […] daily makeup basics This is a response for Kristine Marie’s blog […]

    • KristineMarie Says:

      Thanks Anna;) I love peeking into everyone elses stash;) always new ideas on what I can buy….as if I need more..lol

      KM


Leave a Reply

