~ Cover Girl Outlast Double Lip Shine, A Review ~

August 9, 2009

On the advice of a few lady friends, I purchased the Cover Girl Outlast Double Lip Shine. (WOW, that was a mouthful!) in the shade #295, Sheerly Nude. When not on sale, it is sold for $8.99 USD at my local ULTA store. (www.ulta.com) 

It is a simple packaging without excess. Just a slender double-sided tube of color on one side and gloss on the other. I was most interested in testing the quality before purchasing multiple shades, but my ULTA carried 8-10 total shades in the display. 

I tried it out in the evening before going out. Now having used long wear lip products in the past, I was concerned about the drying effect, so I exfoliated my lips and put on some lip balm about 10 minutes prior to application. I wanted the moisture from the lip balm to settle in well. 

From there, I simply applied the color as I would any other gloss and let it set for about 60 seconds.I noticed that the shade I chose was very close to my natural lipcolor and I was very pleased. I wanted a more natural look, so SHEERLY NUDE was perfect. Then, I applied a layer of the clear gloss and I was out the door for the evening.

It held up wonderfully with no touching up…through hello and goodbye kisses, dinner, drinks and a whole lot of talking;) I came home late and noticed it was STILL there…and STILL the same color as I had earlier applied. No fading. I was VERY impressed, but ready to take it a step further…

I removed all of my makeup with a Makeup Remover Wipe (Neutrogena wipes are my newest find) but I did NOT remove the lipcolor. Then, I went to bed. Yes. I slept with my lipcolor on…. ( ok a little gross, but for scientific research purposes only…)

Well, I slept in late the next day and when I finally woke up…I scurried to the mirror to see the results. By George it was STILL there. I was shocked, and kind of nervous…that it may never come off without divine intervention of some sort…

Well, a makeup remover wipe easily solved that problem and in the blink of an eye and swipe of a wipe….it was gone…

Best of all? My lips underneath were as smooth as before I applied it. Time to head back to ULTA for the other colors..;) 

Kristine Marie

* For more helpful information on Longwear Lipcolors and more, see the link on the side for BEAUTY TIPS & TRICKS.

2 Responses to “~ Cover Girl Outlast Double Lip Shine, A Review ~”

  1. I Lopez Says:

    i really wanna try this out🙂


Leave a Reply

