~ Preparing Skin for Makeup ~

July 25, 2009

I have been asked this question so much, and so often that I decided to make a post dedicated to the topic and some of the products I use and prefer. Substitute the products you are comfortable with. I will try to include products from both ends of the financial spectrum.

Always begin with clean hands and be careful not to get products of any kind into your eyes. Since I believe that clean hands are the best tools for blending skin care on your OWN face (not clients), I will describe the steps in this way. 

1. Use a cleanser that is appropriate for your skin type. (ie: oily, dry, combination or normal) Work it into damp skin in an upward motion and make small circles. Then rinse well.

My Picks – DERMALOGICA makes excellent cleansers, and at drugstores I prefer NEUTROGENA brand. 

2. If you have noticeable pores, a toner/astringent may help to reduce the look of your pores and also more deeply cleanse and reduce topical oil. I have combination skin and some visible pores, and I do this step every other day.

My Picks – I prefer WITCH HAZEL as a gentle toner  and NEUTROGENA also makes a pore reducing toner.

3. A good moisturizer is ESSENTIAL for everyone. No matter your skin type, understand that ALL skin needs hydration for proper function. If you have oily skin, you can choose from a wide variety of OIL- FREE products and always use an SPF of at least 15-20. Prevention is priceless with your skin.

My Picks – I LOVE LOVE LOVE PROACTIVE moisturizer, but also DERMALOGICA and NEUTROGENA brands. 

TIP: Allow your skin to soak in the moisturizer. One of the biggest mistakes people make with makeup is applying foundations and primers to freshly moisturized faces which dilute the product and make it less effective. Give it about 5-8 minutes. This is a good time to do your hair, make a call, switch the laundry or any other small task you need to do. Be sure to REWASH YOUR HANDS if you have moved onto other activities while waiting. 

4. If you use a PRIMER, now is the time. A small bit goes a long way, so don’t overdo it. Use it on main areas such as forehead, cheeks and chin and blend outward and evenly. 

My Picks – SMASHBOX makes a great primer ( also has one with an SPF) and Monistat Chafing Gel ( I know it sounds weird, but trust me!) is also known to be an affordable and effective base for makeup application.

Now you are ready to apply your makeup;) 

Skin care and proper preparation are the beginnings of beautiful faces. Be sure to take your time (MAKE time!) and make skin care your top priority in your daily routine. You never get a second chance to make that first impression;) I will post my full skin care routine soon for those interested. Keep updated!

Questions can be submitted via the comments section or by email.

Kristine Marie

4 Responses to “~ Preparing Skin for Makeup ~”

  1. I Lopez Says:

    thanks for the suggestions. i’d never heard of witch hazel before. i’ve always had a bad experience finding primers. i’d been recommended by a MUA to just use MAC oil control lotion as a primer. would you recommend this? she said it was good for all skin types, but now i’m wondering if it’s better used as a moisturizer?

    • KristineMarie Says:

      Some do well with mulit-tasking products such as Mac Prep & Prime. I , personally, find I do best with using 2 products with my oily/combo skin type. A moisturizer that I allow to set in for about 10 minutes, then a primer. I think we all have a trial and error to find the best fit;) Sometimes, it just takes time;)

  2. i lopez Says:

    I will try to wait longer between steps. i ususally don’t let them absorb enough😦

  3. KristineMarie Says:

    I found that doing the initial steps as SOON as I am out of the shower helps. Then I do my hair or get dressed and come back to the rest;) I hate wasted time as I am always in a hurry to get ready;)


Leave a Reply

