~ MAC Studio Tech Foundation, A Review ~

June 29, 2009


Studio Tech
1

 

 

 

I bought the MAC studio tech cream foundation a few months ago before a series of travel since I hate risking liquid foundations in my luggage. I also just wanted to try something new ( as always! ).

Studio Tech is a cream based foundation made from water, emollients and powder which is said to dry to a matte finish. While creamier than anything else I have used (think softened butter) , it has done a beautiful job of giving me light/medium coverage with more of a natural feel. It is also buildable for those who enjoy a fuller coverage.

It is best applied by using fingers, a foundation brush, a beauty blender or a cosmetic sponge. For sheerest coverage and feel, dampen the brushes/sponges before blending. I set mine with the invisible set powder by MAC on days where I don’t need additional coverage and on days where I want a hint more, I use the MAC mineralized skinfinish in Natural (medium).  Now, some would say no setting powder is necessary as this foundation is intended to dry to a powdery finish, but for myself, I prefer to set it for longer wear.

I have found this to be at the top of my foundation list and a convenient alternative to liquids. I also enjoy the lighter feel and the creamy texture that really seems to blend IN with my skin, not lay on top of it. On days where I am rushing out the door and have no time for full makeup, I dot on a bit under my eyes as a concealer and blend it lightly with a MAC 224 brush and it works wonders.

On a recent vacation to Orlando, Florida, the temperatures were pretty warm and the MAC Studio Tech was put to the test.  I spent a full day at a theme park and while set with a powder, it performed well to my surprise.

The downside for me is that I found that I didn’t get much use overall. The container looks and feels deceiving as I “hit pan” within 2 weeks of consistent use, and I do not apply it heavily. Also worth noting.

So, if you have the money to spend, enjoy MAC products and want to try something new this could be an option for you. You can find it at MAC locations, or online at http://www.maccosmetics.com.  Each pan contains 10g/0.35 US oz  for $29 USD, and it comes in a wide array of shades.

For beginners or those on a budget, MAX FACTOR Pan Stick may be a good alternative. It retails for less than $10 USD, but availability is limited and so is the range of shades available. See my review on MAX FACTOR Pan Stick for more information.

Stay tuned for more reviews and updates and thanks for visiting.

Kristine Marie
US $29.00

Leave a Reply

