~ Kat Von D Tattoo Cover, A Review ~

October 5, 2009

I picked up this product after serious scouring for the final solution for my dark , dark circles that always seem to bring down my look – even when my mood is bright. (Thanks Mom for the dark circle gene!)

So, here are the basics:

WHAT: Kat Von D Tattoo Cover. Available in 8 shades. Waterproof, Transfer Resistant Multi-tasking concealer. Concealer brush sold separately. 

PACKAGING:  Squeeze tube with screw on top in a Kat Von D decorated box.

CONSISTENCY: Rich and Creamy  liquid

WHERE:  Sephora.com

HOW MUCH: $25 USD

PURPOSE: To conceal skin flaws such as redness, blemishes, discolorations and even tattoos.

APPLICATION: Easy. I squeezed a *tiny* bit onto my clean ring-finger tip and patted in until blended. Goes on even and no heavy feeling. 

MY THOUGHTS: I was debating the product based on the cost, but felt I could return it if it didn’t perform as promised. Surely, if this was meant to cover a tattoo, then it should be able to deal with my dark, dark undereye circles, right? 

RESULT: Within a half hour of purchase I was sporting some seriously normal looking eyes. I looked younger, the man of the house noticed and I felt good.  That’s a triple bonus purchase! Highly pigmented and lasted. No settling into creases or fine lines. I’m satisfied!

ADVICE: This is a rich formula with a high degree of pigmentation so be sure to choose the right shade for you. Prepare with a good moisturizer in the eye area or any other area you plan to apply it. Allow moisturizer to settle in. Remember – use a very tiny amount to start. Add more if needed. Set with powder.

*Just for you skeptics out there, I thought evidence would be best, soooo, here is the reality on an actual tattoo:

BEFORE KAT VON D TATTOO CONCEALER:

katvondbeforetattoo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AFTER KAT VON D TATTOO CONCEALER:

katvondaftertattoo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No editing whatsoever. This is the real deal….

HOW I DID IT:

So simply! Just a tiny, tiny bit of concealer pressed in and lightly blended out. I mean, tiny bit. Think the point on a pencil tiny. Let dry for a few seconds, and repeat. Lightly press with translucent powder and that was all there was to it. My tattoo=GONE and Im sure my Mother will be ecstatic when she sees!

Now, the  Dark Circle test. Be warned the initial site could cause nightmares….(no makeup on!)

BEFORE KAT VON D CONCEALER:

circlesbeforekat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AFTER KAT VON D CONCEALER:

circlesafterkat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FINAL LOOK WITH FULL MAKEUP ON:


katvondcloseup


 

 

 

 

 

 

Great coverage, matte finish minimal product needed and lasted and lasted…..IMPRESSING!

*Just as a reference, I am a MAC NC25, a MUFE Mat Velvet 35 and a KAT VON D Medium concealer. Your shade may vary.

So, with that, I am off to work on some other things and I hope this was helpful to anyone looking into the quality of the KAT VON D concealers and in my opinion a great addition to any MUA kit.

KristineMarie

7 Responses to “~ Kat Von D Tattoo Cover, A Review ~”

  1. i lopez Says:

    wow, i wish i would’a gone for this instead of benefit erase paste when i had the chance :( that stuff creases on me and makes lines more visible:( and also fades. i’ll have to try this later on. but i also have to try setting concealers with translucent powders :)

    • KristineMarie Says:

      Yeah, silica based invisible powders are best for setting concealers IMO. Sometimes, it is just one of those things that we all have to figure out “What works best for me?” hence so many industry blogs and avenues to explore;) It should be easier ;)

  2. M Says:

    Wohooo….den concelaren var jo fantastsk, trenger jo nesten ikke sminke etter den, bare litt pudder og voila, ferdig.

    Får man kjøpt den i norge da?
    I dont think so!
    :(

    M

    • KristineMarie Says:

      I am not sure if they sell it in Norway. I bought mine in the United States. I do agree it is a great concealer though!

      KM

  3. charlie Says:

    how good would the product for everyday use as the company has just introduced a tattoo policy .

  4. lisa Says:

    wow..amazing…im going to purchase one soon. I have ugly dark circles as well….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

